EUROVISION 2016: Favorites, Predictions, vs 2015

eurovision_2016_official_logo

EUROVISION SONG CONTEST has always been an event that we, Europeans, and recently the whole world, have been waiting for. It has always been a way of bringing people from different countries and even different continents together, through one of the finest arts, music.

For me, at least, it’s a family event, because we all gather together and watch it until late at night – it often ends at 1 AM where I’m living. But it’s always worth it. I’ve grown up with Eurovision and I hope others will be able to.

EUROVISION SONG CONTEST 2016 is the 61st edition and it promises us an unforgivable show. In this post, you’ll be able to see my top 5 – favorites, my prediction for the top 5 for the Grand Final and a collision with last year, which has in my opinion been one of the greatest. We’ll see how 2016 will do.

FAVORITES

I confess it took me a while to decide which ones are my favorite. It’s a strong year. Most countries have sent songs worth a look or two, but it the end I succeeded in choosing my 5 favorites.

5. AUSTRIA: Loin d’ici – Zoë

This song is a guilty pleasure of mine. I don’t think it’s got much of a chance to win but I love it. It promenades me through a fairty-tale universe and I love the feeling. Besides, I find it to be a very bold move to sing in French, despite the country’s language being German. It was unpredictable, but ended out beautifully.

4. BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA: Ljubav je – Dalal & Deen feat. Ana Rucner and Jala

This is everything someone can ask for: you’ve got fabulous vocals, a melody that sticks to your mind, that incredible cello and bits of rap. Imagine SIA, Bruno Mars, YoYo Ma and Eminem singing together. I’m talking about such a combination. I love the fact that they’re singing in their own language. I think it’s something lost for words to be able to be noticed and applauded for representing not only your country, but your language and the people too. B&H does that this year. And I applaud them.

3. HUNGARY: Pioneer – Freddy

I was so reluctant to like this one because everybody liked it and I’m not a fan of hypes and so on. But when I listened it… I got in. It got me in. It reached the core of my being and that’s something so damn rare for technically anything. I’m a rock – I know. This gets even better because of the fact that I didn’t want to like it but I had to ’cause it’s that good! It’s that good! And it’s totally one of the songs that stand the greatest chance of winning!

2. AUSTRALIA: Sound of Silence – Dami Im

This one has everything. It’s a huge song, maybe too big for the competition. Australia promises us years and years of fantastic song, having started with Guy Sebastian last year and securing the deal with Dami Im this year.

1.FRANCE: J’ai cherché – Amir

This  is my winner. C’est vrai! C’est vrai! Nothing else to say.

PREDICTION

It isn’t that hard to predict this because I have seen lists and lists and I have seen the bets and the odds and I can say that the winner is among those five:

  • FRANCE: J’ai cherché – Amir
  • SPAIN: Say Yay – Barei
  • AUSTRALIA: Sound of Silence – Dami Im
  • HUNGARY: Pioneer – Freddy
  • RUSSIA: You’re the Only One – Sergey Lazarev

 

VS 2015

This is my opinion, just like literally everything in this post. I have automatically removed the countries that have not participated in both years, just because I want this to be a fair fight.

ALBANIA: 2015 – I’m Alive by Elhaida Dani

ARMENIA: 2016 – LoveWave by Iveta Mukuchyan

AUSTRIA: 2016 – Loin d’ici by Zoe

AUSTRALIA: 2016 – Sound of Silence by Dami Im

AZERBAIJAN: 2015 – Hour of the Wolf by Elnur Huseynov

BELGIUM: 2015 – Rhythm Inside by Loic Nottet

BELARUS: 2016 – Help You Fly by Ivan

CYRUS: 2016 – Alter Ego by Minus One

CZECH REPUBLIC: 2015 – Hope Never Dies by Marta Jandova & Vaclav Noid Barta

DENMARK: 2016 – Soldiers of Love by Lighthouse X

FINLAND: neither

FRANCE: 2016 – J’ai Cherche by Amir

ESTONIA: 2016 – Play by Juri Pootsman

GEORGIA: 2015 – Warrior by Nina Sublatti

GERMANY: 2016 – Ghost by Jaime Lee

GREECE: 2015 – One Last Breath by Maria Kyriakou

HUNGARY: 2016 – Pioneer by Freddy

ICELAND: 2016 – Hear them Calling by Greta Salome

IRELAND: 2015 – Playing with Numbers by Molly Sterling

ISRAEL: 2015 – Golden Boy by Nadav Guedj

ITALY: 2015 – Grande Amora by Il Volo

LATVIA: 2016 – Heartbeat by Justs

LITHUANIA: 2016 – I’ve Been Waiting for This Night by Donny Montell

MACEDONIA: 2016 – Dona by Kaliopi

MALTA: 2016 – Walk on Water by Ira Losco

MOLDOVA: 2015 – I Want Your Love by Eduard Romanyuta

MONTENEGRO: 2015 – Adio by Knez

NETHERLANDS: 2015 – Walk Along by Trijntje Oosterhuis

NORWAY: 2016 – Icebreaker by Agnete

POLAND: 2016 – Color of Life by Michal Szpak

ROMANIA: 2015 – De la Capăt by Voltaj

RUSSIA: 2015 – A Million Voices by Polina Gagarina

SERBIA: 2016 – Goodbye by Sanja Vučić ZAA

SLOVENIA: 2015 – Here for You by Maraaya

SPAIN: 2015 – Amanecer by Edurne

SWITZERLAND: neither

UNITED KINGDOM: 2016 – You’re not alone by Joe & Jake

And let’s see the results of this battle-thing:

2015 – 16 and 2016 – 19. Okay, so the winner is obviously: 2016. Either way, can’t wait for the ESC in May. I bet it will be one oustanding show!

And as for this post it’s a wrap-up!!

Leave a Reply

