I’ve just found out I’m in Camp NaNoWriMo, April ’16!

OUCH!!!!!

I know this sounds weird…. Well, the truth is that I haven’t just found out I’m in. I have just found out about the Camp and instantly decided I should try… It’s not my first NaNoWriMo attempt. Actually, not really attempt… considering I’ve won. I was 14 and 1 month when I wrote my first novel, in November 2014, during NaNoWriMo. Since then, I’ve been unable to join any challenge… mostly because I’ve started high school and ninth grade is a living hell… not to mention I’m barely managing my theatre rehearsals and things and so on…

But when I heard that we’ve got a Camp starting in two days… something clicked. I want to write. I need to write. I miss writing. And I’ve recently made up one of the cutest and coolest stories.

And, btw, I’m also doing the Beautiful People thing, (check the questions out here), mostly because I too have got to get used to the universe (a fictional town, something between Beacon Hills and San Diego) and to get my two main characters become my bestfriends.

This novel is outstandingly important to me because it’s partly inspired by some of my recent adventures, regarding my friends and this guy, who I’ve got a love-hate relationship and I can’t not think about him. I need to get this noel done, because I want to free myself from this cocktail of feelings that I’ve got……. GAWWWWDDDD!

So…

(prototype) TITLE: A Girl and A Sandwich Conquering the World

SETTING: a fictional town in California (something between Beacon Hills and San Diego). I’m going to mess this because I’m not in the U.S.A. and I can only dream of visiting San Diego, let alone Beacon Hills. So, I’ll try to keep it as simple and inspire it from my hometown. It’s called Santa Angelica, because I love how it sounds.

INSPIRATION/S: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, the movie adaptation of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews and my own life!!!

STORY: Haydée Ivey is a 17 year old girl who’s struggling to find out more about herself, while also maintaining a normal life and especially when keeping people out of her room. If ever revealed, those secrets might change everything, ruin or build it.

Reuben-Wendell Beckham is a 18 year old geek/nerd/whatever-you-want-to-call-him who goes by the superhero name ‘David W. Sandwich’, while online. That’s where he’s himself, where no one’s blackmailing him to do math homework, not that he’d actually manage to do it.

They have two big things in common: they live on the same street, not that they ever really cross paths. But they also like the band called Magic Hour. And liking that band is going to bring them together in a rollercoaster of events that may or may not have the happiest ending.

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n

I’m doing this for both the Girl and the Sandwich. Let’s do this.

What first inspired this characters? Is there a person/actor you based them off?

Technically, I’m splitting myself each time I create my characters, my MINIONS! The Sandwich’s background (‘the Wallflower IRL who’s somebody online’ – this is me too) and just like The Girl, I’m trying to keep up with the real world, struggling and doing my best, barely figuring things out – we’re however figuring different things out… I’d give you a huge spoiler were I to open my big mouth.

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/d5/54/3f/d5543fc25546b282bbf84b1dccce0fb5.jpghttp://newimages.bwwstatic.com/upload10/516249/388x291(1).jpghttps://i0.wp.com/cdn3.thr.com/sites/default/files/imagecache/NFE_portrait/2013/05/evan_peters_a_p.jpg

If you want me to give you a DREAM CAST… IDK where else to put this… well, I’m thinking of Dylan O’Brien (don’t roll your eyes!! -he’s talented and the Sandwich is very Stiles-like, because the guy that inspired the Sandwich is very Stiles-like) or David Lambert (this guy is so handsome and I can totally see him as the shy type of guy + he’s so good on The Fosters) or Evan Peters (he’s a really talented actor and can totally rock the weird guy role).

https://i0.wp.com/images.lifeandstylemag.com/uploads/posts/image/55814/ashley-benson-pregnant-pretty-little-liars.jpghttp://vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net/teen-wolf-mtv/images/7/77/AdelaideKane.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20150802115507

As for the Girl, I’m thinking of… Naomi Scott (because she’s my image of how the Girls looks like), Ashley Benson (I know what this girl can do and she’s fab and the Girl is just as sassy and supposedly as gorgeous as Hanna Marin is on PLL) or Adelaide Kane (she’s fab, she looks like my image and she’s just the perf choice for everything).

That’d be it.

Describe their daily routine:

  • Wake up (both)
  • Eat, dress and so on for school (both)
  • Survive life (both)
  • Scrap anything, anytime, whenever an idea comes (the Sandwich)
  • Have fun and hang out (the Girl)
  • and many more but I’m too lazy to list them all….

If they joined your local high school, what clique would they fit into?

I’m confident that the Girl is going to be among the popular girls and the Sandwich is the wallflower… WHAT A SURPRISE!!! That happens in the book. *spoiler alert*

Write a list of things they merely tolerate.

Barely tolerates? WHAT THE HECK? Well, the Girl: being fake, all those caprices and the shallow-ness of the society. the Sandwich: the outside world, the AGAINST-BOOKS SQUADS. He despises people that are not into books. DUHH!!! Who wouldn’t???

How do they react in awkward silences?

AWKWARD SILENCES are the most usual thing in the Sandwich’s life. However, they’re awkward for the Girl…

Can they swim? If so, how did they learn?

I don’t know how to swim. If we were to follow the stereotypes, the Sandwich doesn’t know and the Girl knows. But I’m a rebel mushroom and I’m swapping up the places! She doesn’t and he, somehow, does. Most probably he once nearly drowned and somebody rescued him… then he just tried again until he finally started floating and so on….

What is one major event that helped shape who they are?

What happens in the book is going to shape them a lot!

What things do they value most in life?

Well, the Girl is very fond of her life and of the beauties in the world, while the Sandwich (is the total opposited and) values the online world. He’s got friends and fans there and the Online Life is working better than the real one. They care about life but they have different concepts about life. Besides, the usual… cake, family, cake, pets, cake… did I mention cake?

Your character/s is/are having a rough day…what things do they do to make them happy again? Is there anyone they talk/interact with to get in a better mood?

He is probably going to open his computer and just LIVE there (write, read and so on), while she’s really open and will talk to somebody… a BF, a family member, anybody…

THAT WAS IT!!!! *dancing*

YAAAYY!! I SURVIVED. Now I’m going to make the outline and all the OTHERS stuff that I need. I’ve got to be prepared for April Fools Day, when things are going to get real!

2 thoughts on “I’ve just found out I’m in Camp NaNoWriMo, April ’16!

  1. AHHH THIS WAS GREAT!! I absolutely love your title, omg, and your story sounds so fun (Also gif usage = A+ XD) And best of luck for NaNo!! I have never done a Camp NaNo before myself, but I’m hoping it’ll be fun. ;D And your story just sounds so quirky and awesome so squeee I hope it’s as fun to write as it sounds! GOOD LUCK!
    (And thanks for joining in the linkup!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! (May I fangirl over the fact that CAIT from PAPER FURY commented on my blog? You’re literally my blogging role model!) Thanks for the beautiful words! I’m super excited to write it and I’ll be doing my best!! Good luck as well!! :)))

      Like

Leave a Reply

