Oscars Predictions and Favorites

oscars_poster_2016The Academy Awards are literally the top-rated, highest-honor AWARD things. Okay, I know I’m not very coherent.

The thing is that the goal of all A-list actors are to get one of those little golden statues. Some get more than they deserve, some are acknowledge by getting one, some deserve one and don’t get it. For the last category, I’m looking at you, Leo.

On February 28th, we’ve got the awards. But up until then, I want to let to word know my favorite and my predictions. I’m not going through all categories because I don’t know anything about Production Design or Sound Mixing. But for those categories that allow me, and you’ll see which, I’m going to do this.

BEST FILM: The nominatees are:

  • The Big Short – Perhaps created with the same concept as the Wolf of Wall Street, the life of a guy who did it BIG-style, The Big Short is, truth be told, a movie that I don’t see winning much. Christian Bale delivers, like almost always, a well-acted performance. The acting may actually be the biggest thing about this movie, well, besides its well-done portrayal of crisis.
  • Bridge of Spies – It’s been a long time since a war film really did a great job. Well, after all, it’s Grand Master Steven Spielberg’s masterpiece. I can’t deny that this is one of the serious players for the big title.
  • Brooklyn – Another big movie, Brooklyn is most probably the top of most lists regarding the Best Movies of 2015. I can only tell one thing: it’s a movie that gives you a rollecoaster of feelings even in its trailer. And, truth be told, the other movies should be afraid of this tear-jerking historical drama film.
  • Mad Max: Fury Road – The movie approval on Rotten Tomatoes is 97% and it’s also the first movie to gain Academy Award recognition, but is an action movie good enough for the Biggest Oscar of them All? If New York Times says it’s the best of 2015, then it could be.
  • The Martian – This is the adaptation of a brilliant book and it’s a masterpiece of the sci-fi movie. Perhaps it hasn’t topped many lists on all internet, but, truth be told, it topped lists in people’s hearts, because it’s a combination of hard-work, seriousness, a good laugh and fabulous acting.
  • The Revenant – The movie with the most nominations of them all also has a comitted performance from the leading actor, Leonardo DiCaprio, a director who’s known for daring, working hard and achieving, and a story worth many awards. You can name this a formula good enough.
  • Room – A heart-felt drama that doesn’t want to go down without a good fight. If it’s going to make you cry and that’s for sure. Its slogan is ‘See it and Be Transformed’. We kinda know why.
  • Spotlight – The last, but not the least, nominee is one worth a thought or two. With an ensemble to be envied for, all of which give magnificent performances, and a story, it’s one of the movies with ‘universal acclaim’. It could be,  of course, it could be this one.

the_revenant_2015_film_poster

My favorite is The Martian, but my prediction…well, I think The Revenant is going to win.

BEST DIRECTOR: From now on, I’ll make the long story shorter so that I don’t write a full-length novel within a blog post. Between, Lenny Abrahamson, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Tom McCarthy, Adam McKay and George Miller, both my favorite and the winner, in my opinion, is going to be Alejandro G. Iñárritu.

BEST ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE: The big battle is between Leo, Michael Fassbender and Eddie Redmayne, but I think it’s finally time that Leonardo DiCaprio wins his Oscar – favorite + prediction. He really deserves it for The Revenant.

BEST ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE: I’ve got now idea. I’d like to think that Saoirse Ronan really has a chance because I feel she deserves it – favorite. Let’s make this clear: the most heart-felt and tear-jerking performance is the one of Brie Larsonprediction. Overall, it has to be her.

BEST ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE: I don’t know. I don’t see anyone bursting out from the screen and screaming “I’m the winner”. They pretty much have equal chances, from my point of view, but if we were to chose only one person, it’s going to be – prediction Sylvester Stallone.

BEST ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE: My favorite would be Alicia Vikander, for the Danish Girl and, after seeing critic reviews, I believe she could win too. If not, a second prediction would be Jennifer Jason Leigh.

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE: From my point-of-view, I think that the two real opponents for this title are Anomalisa and When Marni Was There. Considering it’s a Studio Ghibli production, When Marni Was There has all the qualities to win – favorite + prediction.

BEST ORIGINAL SONG: I refuse to believe that the Academy can be so biased to actually award this to Earned It, from the movie Fifty Shades of Gray. I can’t say it’s a bad song, but there’s Til It Happens to You favorite + prediction – that is fifty shades better than the Weeknd’s song.

 

That’s all I have to say guy. Have a fabulous week!

 

Leave a Reply

